• Suggest the new product.

Votes: 44 100.0%
  • Hide it from the customer!

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters
Status
Not open for further replies.

mgookin

A product comes along which will save your customer money but it also means you'll have less service work going forward. Do you suggest it to your customer or hide it from them?

Thanks!

JDBrown

Occupation
Electrical Engineer
I just voted, although I'm not an electrician and therefore don't really have anything to do with service work. Even so, the idea of hiding a product from a customer just so I can maybe make a buck later on strikes me as so sleazy that I literally shuddered just thinking about it.

I would be quite the hypocrite to support this type of practice, given how often I find myself ranting against manufacturers who seem to design their products to fail a month after the warranty expires. Or how often I find myself irritated about devices that can't be repaired when broken, they have to be replaced.

I have a feeling that if you were to hide the new product from your customer, you might find it comes back to bite you in the end. Like when the time for service work arrives and he's heard about the new product from someone else, so he decides to ditch you for one of your competitors.

My experience with any new technology like that is that it tends to be pricey and there tend to be a number of bugs that have to get worked out during the first generation. So you could pitch the idea to your customer like this:

"Now, the traditional way to handle this type of an installation is to use an ABC, but there's this new XYZ that's just come out and is supposed to be maintenance-free. The drawbacks are that it's a new, unproven technology, and it's going to be more expensive. With the ABC, you'd have a less expensive, proven solution, but you know going in that it's going to require annual maintenance. So, which option would you like to go with?"