Electrical Theory Confusion

Status
Not open for further replies.

DBoone

Occupation
General Contractor
I am relatively new to residential building and electrical (4 yrs), but I have not had any problems finding good information to study electrical theory. I have learned a lot thru this forum as a matter of fact.

Any ideas on why so many people are misinformed on electrical theory today? (electricity goes to the ground, follows only the path of least resistance, "neutral" and EGC are basically the same since "they go to the same place", etc.

Any ideas on why so many people are misinformed on electrical theory today? (electricity goes to the ground, follows only the path of least resistance, "neutral" and EGC are basically the same since "they go to the same place", etc.

Probably two things. First, science education was either dumbed down or just removed from the school curriculum years ago. The students never had a chance to learn the theory (like putting two light bulbs in parallel, they both light up). That covers those newer to the trade. For the older ones that might have had the benefit of that education, I suspect that many of them just ignored it, and when they went into the trade, the ideas and training were different so they never learned.

That's all a monday-morning guess.

cadpoint

You need to carry the ugly book or other pocket references to show to associates when they state
odd things.

Here's one I like to use.

If one drew out a single line diagram of a simple switched lamp circuit it being eiither A/C or D/C the only change of terms in what the single line is called after the lamp element! A neutral if a A/C and if a D/C circuit a ground.

Use the simgle line, watch for the oh moment. Go on to state that a complete circuit is required and with A/C it
wants to return to source and D/C needs the same thing, a path to a source of power that in D/C happens to be
a lot of times a self contanted power source.