smart meter data

Status
Not open for further replies.

gar

Occupation
EE
131007-1059 EDT

I have previously indicated I am studying smart meter data. At my website page http://beta-a2.com/energy_c.html I have presently displayed two plots or graphs from my DTE Smart Meter.

I would like to see data from others with different lifestyles. I mostly work in my basement with lights and equipment on about 16 hours per day, and this increases my mid-day average usage. Also some equipment is on 24 hours per day. I have presently cut my daily usage from about 40 kWh to about 20 kWh. However, it won't stay at 20.

If in your home there is no one around during the day, then your usage will probably peak in the morning, drop to a sleep time level, and peak again in the evening. The evening period probably will be longer than the morning time.

If you do a Google search with --- DTE smart meter --- or some other power company, and possibly one or two other modifier words there will be a preponderance of hits on sites expressing opposition to smart meters. Some of the individual single additional test words I use are: data, plot, graph, reduce, energy, website, procedures, reading, getting, resolution, granularity, information, power, fraud, and scam.

There is practically no support or honest discussion about these meters. It is amazing the erroneous logic and ignorance expressed by so many of the commentators.

In one Google result the claim was made that the power density was 0.2 mW/sq-cm at a 3 ft distance from the meter. If we assume an isotropic radiator, then this means a transmitter output power of:

Surface area of a sphere is 4*Pi*r^2.
3 ft = 36*2.54 = 91.44 cm
r^2 = 8361
area = 4*Pi*8361 = 105,071 sq-cm.

For 0.2 mW / sq-cm this means that the source transmitted power has to be
0.2*105 = 21 W.