Misapplied voltage potential damage

Status
Not open for further replies.
Our head office recently experienced a 45 minute overvoltage when the local Utility (trying not to name names here) introduced 480/277V secondary when replacing pad-mount transformer to 208/120V wired building. I'm not a forensic engineer and may not find one in this forum, but as a licensed professional electrical engineer my company is asking for my advice. What types of things should I consider as possible points of damage other than the obvious equipment failures? Amazingly only a few copiers and fax machines were taken out and most PC's and other capital assets were seemingly okay. Do surge suppressors protect from this kind of overvoltage condition and are they compromised if so? Do I need to be concerned about building wiring integrity for potential future fires? Who/what type of entity should I get involved to check out the building systems other than insurance carrier?

GoldDigger

Staff member
Occupation
Retired PV System Designer
Our head office recently experienced a 45 minute overvoltage when the local Utility (trying not to name names here) introduced 480/277V secondary when replacing pad-mount transformer to 208/120V wired building. I'm not a forensic engineer and may not find one in this forum, but as a licensed professional electrical engineer my company is asking for my advice. What types of things should I consider as possible points of damage other than the obvious equipment failures? Amazingly only a few copiers and fax machines were taken out and most PC's and other capital assets were seemingly okay. Do surge suppressors protect from this kind of overvoltage condition and are they compromised if so? Do I need to be concerned about building wiring integrity for potential future fires? Who/what type of entity should I get involved to check out the building systems other than insurance carrier?