How do you make measure and make bends over 90 degrees?

Status
Not open for further replies.

qcroanoke

Sometimes I don't know if I'm the boxer or the bag
Occupation
Sorta retired........
I'm an apprentice just getting started out of high school. I've only been exposed to residential and never had encountered EMT untill very recently. I am ok with the basics but I was just put on a job where I am running 3/4 emt by myself. I can figure out how to make bends like simple offset and 90's but today, and for the near future, I will be having to make odd sized bend angles. My 4" Square in the ceiling is not aligned with the wall I have to pipe over too. Basically they are not on the same plane. Does anyone have any advice or guidance that they can offer? Thank you in advance.

Welcome to the forum!
One of 2 things if I understand your question.
You can kick the EMT before it gets to the ceiling out of the wall to where it lines up with the box on the ceiling or you can offset the EMT over to where it lines up with the box in the wall you are piping to. Or you can move the box. :)

Last edited by a moderator:

Gregg Harris

Occupation
Electrical,HVAC, Technical Trainer
I'm an apprentice just getting started out of high school. I've only been exposed to residential and never had encountered EMT untill very recently. I am ok with the basics but I was just put on a job where I am running 3/4 emt by myself. I can figure out how to make bends like simple offset and 90's but today, and for the near future, I will be having to make odd sized bend angles. My 4" Square in the ceiling is not aligned with the wall I have to pipe over too. Basically they are not on the same plane. Does anyone have any advice or guidance that they can offer? Thank you in advance.

There are several bending manuals that you can reference. Google it

Smart $

Esteemed Member