Another Generator Grounding Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

ceb58

JW, I admire your tenacity and I have no argument that you are technically correct here. I have had these same arguments about these installs. I just don't know what the practical solution is here. The NEC, UL and the manufacturers need to come up with a practical solution.

They have. Install it as a separately derived system.

templdl

Now there's something I can agree with.:cool:

But the manufacturers must realize that the is an issue. When I worked as a sales and applications engineer I went to as many code and electrical safety forums as I could so that I would be able to relate to my customers. I often think that those who design and manufacture products don't have a clue about what the real world application problems are.
When I worked for a transformer manufacturer I never understood why my design engineers always put a grounding stud on the outside of the terminal enclosure of a NEMA 3R transformer. You use conduit with the wires inside the conduit, run an EGC inside the conduit and have a ground stud out side the terminal compartment.

goldstar

Occupation
Electrical Contractor
The opening sentence in UL-FTCN states the following :
This category covers internal-combustion-engine-driven generators rated
15 kW or less, 250 V or less, which are provided only with receptacle outlets for the ac output circuits.
Does that mean that I can use this portable unit as a non-separately derived system ?

http://www.electricgeneratorsdirect.com/Generac-5735-Portable-Generator/p2685.html

Aside from the KW rating it meets ALL the requirements listed in FTCN. I don't see any technical difference in the way it's built when compared with smaller KW units. If you click on the "specs" tab you'll see that the neutral IS bonded. Would this be a safe and Code compliant installation if I didn't transfer the neutral ?

goldstar

Occupation
Electrical Contractor