Would You Do This ?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I had a friend call me to look at his panel. It's an older Square D panel and the bus was burnt under the water heater breaker. I tried to locate a good used replacement, but couldn't, so I told him I needed to replace the panel. It's in a condo and the main for his panel is in a locked meter room. The condo management told him that they wouldn't open the room so we could shut it off without a permit.
I'm a master electrician, but I have my license inactive since I work for someone else. I can't pull a permit.
But with or without a permit, I wouldn't do what I'm about to tell you.
My friend calls a contractor who tells him the job will be $1,700, but if he will let them do it without a permit, it will cost $850. He said okay. Well, I think we all know that some contractors have 2 levels of work, one permitted and one not permitted.
For $850, they took the live feeder off the panel main lugs and taped them up. No electric room access needed. Then they pulled the bus out of the existing Square D can and screwed in a new GE bus with GE breakers. Then they screwed the GE panel cover to the wall.
I'm pissed.
I would love to hear your thoughts on this.

goldstar

Occupation
Electrical Contractor
Personally speaking, I would not have done this job without a permit and certainly would not have wanted to work this live. The liability is greater than what the job is worth. However, from a safety standpoint, if the other EC did not remove the SE cable or feeders from the panel and merely taped them up or safed them off and then replaced the damaged bus with an identical bus then I see nothing wrong with that. But, you're still taking a chance. Also, shaving a couple of $$ off the asking price of a job is one thing. Cutting the price in half for cash is quite another. Talk about a bottom feeder - I hope I never have to work at that level.:happysad:

GerryB