need facts!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tibzy

I was wondering if anyone knows the requirements regarding maintenance personnel doing basic electrical work? By basic I mean installing switches, receptacles, ballasts etc.
I'm asking because it has just been brought to my attention that the gentlemen I work with and have worked at this facility are no longer competent to install such devices.
I am a licensed electrician in multiple states and I understand some states have certain bylaws and amendments to perform electrical work.
What was told to me was, "there has to be two licensed electricians on the premises to do electrical work".
I thought it was a one to one ratio, one Journeyman electrician and one apprentice unless master electrician then its a different situation.
I'm actually asking this question on behalf of my fellow colleagues, that because of their age and a new supervisor who feels they are inadequate and should be thrown to the side.
I on the other hand respect them and know they have knowledge that is still useful. Apologize for the rant, just getting sick of companies forcing older guys out before they can properly retire.If an
Some just need some insight on the correct way of doing things. Question being does a general maintenance man need a license to perform electrical work and is there such an article stating requirements of two licensed electricians to perform electrical work? If so I'll be fixing a lot of lights and outlets. This is in NY, Thanks for any help.

Tibzy

This is NE. Anyone can do repair work for an employer if it is within their scope of employment, or job. No license needed. No inspection required.

Thank you for your response, do you have any idea where I can acquire something in writing regarding this topic? I want to help these guys and the new supervisor will want some documentation. If you could point me in the right direction it would be well appreciated.