'Other Than Dwelling Units'

Status
Not open for further replies.

mprhd7

Greetings to all, I am an instructor at an electrical trade school in Southern California and preparing to start teaching from the 2014 NEC Code Book.
We have a question in regards to Article 210.8 GFCI's.
Question: what is meant by 'Other Than Dwelling Units'? There doesn't seem to be a clear definition in the code book for this section.

Article 210.8 (D), (newly added), seems to contradict the statement of Article 210.8 (B), 'Other Than Dwelling Units'. as it states, .......outlets that supply dishwashers installed in dwelling unit locations.

Please Advise.....

Sierrasparky

Occupation
Electrician ,contractor
Welcome to the Forum!

First of all you state that you are teaching a trade school class the 2014 NEC? If this school is to prepare students for work as Electricians in CA you are teaching the wrong code!

CA has just started using the Calif Electric code (CEC) which is based on the 2011 NEC. There are some differences. Ca does make changes. Then there is the issue that CA will not adopt a new code until probably 2017.r No Jurisdiction in this state can use any other code. It would be improper to teach students a code we do not use. It will only create problems. It is bad enough that Federal projects may use a older code.

In that case the question is irrelevant at this time. Things might change by 2017,

Little Bill

Staff member
Occupation
Semi-Retired Electrician
Welcome to the Forum!

First of all you state that you are teaching a trade school class the 2014 NEC? If this school is to prepare students for work as Electricians in CA you are teaching the wrong code!