Mini-Split Disconnect??

Status
Not open for further replies.

jahilliard

We installed a Mini-split system, or I should say the electrical for it. We have done the electrical in several different AHJ's for mini-splits and have never once been required to have an additional disconnect for the Air Handler inside the building...now we have a failure notice on an inspection requiring a disconnect at the Air Handler as well?? Curious what experience you all have had with this or why/why not a disconnect would/would not be required for the Air Handler??

Ragin Cajun

Sounds familiar.

As an engineer I often must design for the worst case of AHJ inspection.

I do call for a disconnect for the air handler. The only issue is often you have to disconnect three wires, even though it's only 120V. Depends on the unit. Look closely at the vendor wiring diagram. SOME AHJ's have allowed a plug, but check ahead of time.

RC

GoldDigger

Staff member
Occupation
Retired PV System Designer
:thumbsup:
Of the ungrounded wires, only one is nominally power but the control wire may be signalling by a low offset voltage from the hot wire in some cases.

Tapatalk!

iwire

Staff member
:thumbsup:
Of the ungrounded wires, only one is nominally power but the control wire may be signalling by a low offset voltage from the hot wire in some cases.

Tapatalk!

In my experience the indoor unit is 208 or 240 so a two pole disconnect switch is needed. Sometimes we use a 3 pole and break all three including the low volt signal wire.

GoldDigger

Staff member
Occupation
Retired PV System Designer
In my experience the indoor unit is 208 or 240 so a two pole disconnect switch is needed. Sometimes we use a 3 pole and break all three including the low volt signal wire.
This two or three pole disconnect could be just a snap switch, yes? Or is a visible break required?

jahilliard