Electrical Certification required for industrial maintanance?

Status
Not open for further replies.

blazini

New to the forum but I joined to ask about "certifications" and "licenses" because I hear it get thrown around quite a bit by people that probably don't have any business speaking on the subject.

I've heard things like "3-phase certification" (which I don't believe to exist specifically), and people claiming to be "certified electricians" who have never worked for electrical contractors. That doesn't necessarily concern me, but I have had what I do brought into question recently.

I'm A lead mechanic in a factory. A contractor handles all of our wiring and bringing power to machinery. A lot of times they won't actually hook the machine itself up or they tend to be a bit weary of it. I'll sometimes wire machines in, or re-phase the motors myself. I have no "formal" electrical training other than some Vo-Tech which I didn't complete, just on-the-job. This is all 480v I tend to only work after a fused disconnect or breaker after I can verify everything is dead. I've been told by someone who claims to have some sort of liscense that I need to be certified to change fuses in a disconnect since one side would be live after throwing the knife. I don't see how this is since every disconnect I can think of is fed from it's own breaker which could also be flipped.

Nonetheless it makes me curious as to whether something would be required that I'm unaware of. I'm in PA btw.

petersonra

Occupation
engineer
"certified" just means you have a certificate of some sort attesting to some level of training or competence. depending on who issued the certificate, it may mean something or nothing.

"licensed" means some licensing authority issued you a license. again, it may be meaningful, it may not.

blazini