PV array on a metal roof

Status
Not open for further replies.
I want to install a PV system on a metal roof with a 15 degree pitch (see attached photos), and this is my first time working with this type roof. I am planning to use Unirac rails on L-foot mounts. The roof has lateral (E-W) I beams starting 18" from the peak, then spaced every 48". If I were to drill down through the sheet metal to screw the L-foot to the I-beam, what is the best way to seal the penetration? Is there a better way to install the racking?

Attachments

• steel building 1.jpg
    steel building 1.jpg
    134 KB · Views: 0
  • Interior I beams.jpg
    Interior I beams.jpg
    135.4 KB · Views: 0
  • Roof detail.jpg
    Roof detail.jpg
    125.7 KB · Views: 0

BillK-AZ

Here is a similar installation. May not be optimum, we do not have to consider snow loads in the Phoenix area.

Attachments

• Typical metal building roof PV.jpg
    Typical metal building roof PV.jpg
    141.9 KB · Views: 0

jaggedben

Occupation
Solar and Energy Storage Installer
I want to install a PV system on a metal roof with a 15 degree pitch (see attached photos), and this is my first time working with this type roof. I am planning to use Unirac rails on L-foot mounts. The roof has lateral (E-W) I beams starting 18" from the peak, then spaced every 48". If I were to drill down through the sheet metal to screw the L-foot to the I-beam, what is the best way to seal the penetration? Is there a better way to install the racking?

I did an install on exactly this type of construction a few years ago. We used Pro-Solar Fast jacks because they only required one bolt. We used double-sided Eternabond sealing tape in between the jacks and the roof. Eternabond is an RV waterproofing product that was a pain to work with but which did the job well.