Toggle switch as disconnect for dry-sprinkler air pump.

Status
Not open for further replies.
Preface: I have limited experience with pumps and motors associated with the fire sprinkler system.

On a project we recently completed the building inspector had issue with the sprinkler pipe travelling though the insulated attic. Rather then heating and/or insulating the attic the customer opted to convert the sprinkler to a dry system. They installed a pump to regulate the air pressure in the pipe. I became aware of this change the next day, also coincidentally the day the fire and electrical inspector were due to visit the site. So i ran 12/2 MC with a dedicated 20A breaker and locked it in the on-position. I used a 20A commercial grade toggle switch as a disconnect (Labled as a disconnect with the circuit number and the device it services) just to get the job done quickly with what I had on the truck. Nobody even looked at it or questioned it or asked me about it and there was no issue...
i'm not worried about using a switch as a disconnect for a motor. I'm more worried about the fact that its associated to the sprinkler system.

My question is:
"Is the 20A commercial grade toggle switch suitable for use as a disconnect for this pump associated with the sprinkler system."

kwired

Electron manager
This air pump is not critical to the primary function of the sprinkler system, and in fact is not even needed once the system is actively performing it's primary function. Should the air pump fail (whether it be the switch or anything else) there should be controls that give a trouble alert once pressure drops below a specific level.

augie47

Staff member
Occupation
State Electrical Inspector (Retired)
Per NEC 430.102(B) you need the disconnecting means and per 430.109 (C) your switch is most likely suitable but you should take a look at that section to see if it meets the rating criteria .