Is there a time limit for "temporary" service?

Status
Not open for further replies.

F357

Long story short - I have a 15,000 square foot warehouse that mostly does not have power. In one corner I have 200A single phase 120/240 service. I need to distribute power throughout the building for outlets and lighting. I consider this simple wiring and I know how to do it all, however, I cannot get permits to legally do this myself because I am not an electrician and I do not own the building. (I lease it) The owner of the building doesn't care what I do, if I get permits or not, or if it's even safe, but I don't want to do anything against the rules here.

The cost to hire an electrician to install subpanels and outlets with permits throughout the building would be astronomical. I don't want to spend that much on a building I do not own and will not be using forever. Anything permanently installed stays with the building when I leave.

So, I think my solution would be to use a variety of 50A "spider boxes" and some long 50A cords with twistlock california style connectors. This would give me several 50A subpanels throughout the building with smaller 120 and 240 outlets I can use. I would only need to hire an electrician to install four or more 50A outlets right next to my main panel. The rest of the system would be "temporary" or "portable".

Is there a time limit on how long I am able to use a "temporary" power distribution setup like you might use on any other large job site? Am I correct that I no longer need a permit to do the wiring on anything that is simply plugged in, and not a permanently installed part of the building's electrical system?

iwire

Staff member
90 days or the period of construction.

590.3 Time Constraints.
(A) During the Period of Construction.
Temporary electric power and lighting installations shall be permitted during
the period of construction, remodeling, maintenance,
repair, or demolition of buildings, structures, equipment, or