Questionable service ground, subpanel with no grounding conductor

Status
Not open for further replies.
This is a question and I hope doesn't violate the forum rules. I read about the forum while reading Karl Riley's book "Tracing EMF's In Building Wiring and Grounding". I have just ordered the Soares book on grounding. I've been an electrician for more than 40 years and am a member of IBEW 6.

I have found an odd problem with the service and sub-panel grounding in an older house. The electrical service entrance is on the opposite side of the house from the water service. The alleged existing service ground to a water pipe is inaccessible. It's in a very tight crawl space and the plumbers, during a kitchen remodel when the floor of the kitchen was off, ran their plastic drains where it was easiest for them. Pretty much cutting off further access to anyone but a midget and it's a long crawl. The new water service, seems to be in the same location as the old one, based on the meter location at the street curb, and is on the opposite side of the building in the garage. There is a sub-panel in the garage, fed by old romex with no grounding conductor.

The main service ground is definitely not connected to the incoming water service within 15 feet, it's on the opposite side of the building and may be connected to an obsolete galvanized water pipe that is not readily inspectable. Even if it's not obsolete, it's inaccessible for inspection to verify its integrity. Running a new service ground wire to the water service entrance is a serious problem. What section addresses the issue of not attaching the service ground directly to the incoming water service and only using two grounding electrodes as the primary service ground?