Who classifies locations?

Status
Not open for further replies.

wrobotronic

Hello all. I am new to the plan review process. My question is: who makes the call as to what classification a new commercial location receives? I'm not the reviewer of record mind you, I just want to try an educate myself... the plans I am looking at are for a hemp oil extraction facility. To me it seems that the process should be classified to some degree, but do I make that call or the engineer or someone above my pay grade? And where on the print would I find this information? Thank you as always.

rbalex

Staff member
Occupation
Professional Electrical Engineer
Technically, it can be done by anyone who knows what they are doing. The legal responsibility is like many other things in our business - it's up to the AHJ. Personally, I've never dealt with an AHJ that that was trained to do it properly [Section 500.4(A)] but I've have never seen them question a PE stamp or a facility's insurer certification. The PE can be either the facility's own employee or a consultant.

bphgravity

In the state of Florida, the registered design professional for the project in question is responsible for identifying & documenting the classified locations. This will be verified and approved/rejected by the local Fire Marshal &/or Building Official.

mwm1752

The IBC has guidelines for classification of use & construction. Experienced plans examiners should be able to decipher such information. As for hemp oil extraction you may be dealing with extremelty high preasure vessels, flamable gas & dust. Are you talking agricultural or factory? Residential or commercial zones? Fire protection could be extreme. This is not a generic answer. I have not seen a juristiction rule the same as another yet.

mwm1752