Electrical Engineering - Electrician certification

Status
Not open for further replies.

loboesso

Hi everyone!

I am studying to be an Electrical Engineer(90%) sure will be on Power path; I am always been attracted to do electrical work (residential) but never become an Electrician, I did work for an Electrician as apprentice but for about 2 years long long time ago.

My questions are:
What are your thoughts on becoming an Electrician contractor in addition to finish my degree in EE, even if I dont work on a construction field?
My plans are to work for a Power Company, however I dont want to be an EE that not quite understand the electricians.. Is it possible?, Not worth

I am a Semiconductor Technician for 17 years and one thing I am certain is I like the Eng. side of any field but I also like to get dirty..

Basically I am looking for EE/Electricians to give me feedback.
Going through some forums, feels like there are not many EE that are Electricians or at least are willing to get dirty if the job needs to get done or know what needs to be done.

BY the way I am in my 40`, however I for certain, I have more motivation than some younger students in my EE courses. (They have more time though :( )

thanks in Advanced

mgookin

I think you're in Europe (or up all night studying) based on your time of post (shows 4:30am on my system and that's my local time).
Here's what I would suggest to someone here (in Florida) who asked the same question.
Get that EE degree and go work as an EE for someone. Then get your PE license.
Then figure out what you want to do.
If you're in your 40's now, add a few more years and that's where you'll be when that decision comes due. Just remember, the 50's is right around the corner!

Good luck in your studies! :thumbsup:

Oh, and Welcome to the forums too! :thumbsup:

charlie b

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Engineer