conductor color of same circuit

Status
Not open for further replies.

don_resqcapt19

Staff member
Occupation
retired electrician
So could any install yeah? Its a "given" that the colors for 480 are Brown Orange Yellow. 240/208 Black Red Blue. But where does it say this in the code book? I am not very good at interpreting the code but do they mean that we must post Black Red Blue as hots for all 120/240 distribution centers? OR Purple Yellow Pink as hots if someone got a great deal from a parts house? I haven't seen anything stating a color other than on neutrals, grounds, and high legs. Just how I read it though and think that the "trade standard" of coloring is considered readily available IMO.
Taking the conductor color, even the colors green or white as a given for for the identification of the function of a conductor is a good what you to get into trouble.

The rule in 210.5 does not require you that you use colors to ID the conductors by phase and voltage. That is the easiest method and the method most often used. No matter what method you use, the method of identification must be posted at each panel.

mwm1752

The rule in 210.5 does not require you that you use colors to ID the conductors by phase and voltage. .[/QUOTE]

By phase but not by voltage
(1) Branch Circuits Supplied from Mor e Than One Nominal Voltage System. Where the premises wiring system has branch circuits supplied from more than one nominal voltage system, each ungrounded conductor of a branch circuit shall be identified by phase or line and system at all termination, connection, and splice points in compliance with 210.5(C)(1) (a) and (b).

code gets more restrictive every time we discuss this --

don_resqcapt19

Staff member
Occupation
retired electrician
The rule in 210.5 does not require you that you use colors to ID the conductors by phase and voltage. .