Arc Fault breakers producing water.

Status
Not open for further replies.
ok, first this is my first time posting and it's nice to meet you all.

quick background. electrician since 2000 , current own and operate an electrical contracting business and a tech company. primarily residential work with some light commercial.

a customer of ours had an arc fault breaker dead shorting (melodramatic as arc faults dead short). we are currently on the 2014 code, but the house was built 2 years ago when we were on the 2011 code. all 15 amp circuits are arc fault with the dining being the sole 20a arc fault. went to change the breaker out and noticed it was soaked. shut off the main and started pulling breakers in the 200a square d homeline panel. these breakers are the pigtails since it was put in prior to the homelines going to full length neutral bars. about 90% of the arc faults in the panel were soaked, none of the other breakers. it's like they are producing water. panel is in a storage room of a walk out basement, on a stud wall, open drywall, with 1/4" between the panel and the concrete wall. 15a breakers on the right were mostly all soaked and the sole 20a on the left side of panel was the only thing wet on that side.