Inspectors and calling items

Status
Not open for further replies.

wrobotronic

Hi All,
As some of you might know I am a relatively new electrical inspector. I had an inspection at a house remodel. I have failed the electrician several times. On a recent inspection for dry wall, i was called in to take a look at some of the romex going to the device boxes. I figured a rotozip got hung up and tore up some wires, no big deal. However, when i went to the property, i started looking in the boxes and noticed that many of them had the romex scored and the copper was exposed. I obviously missed this on previous inspections and i recognize that fact. Now that I have seen the issue, i have instructed the electrician that all of these need to be fixed. Holy smokes, did he lose his mind. I do not blame him, I missed it. I told him that luckily we found it now and not at final when the place was fully complete. He is basically refusing to fix this issue since I have already signed the rough inspection. Why he wants to go this route is beyond me, and he must know that he will certainly not pass his final. Does anyone have any advice on how to handle this? Obviously, I want the house to be safe and the way it sits now, it is not. I understand that I missed this, and inspectors miss things all the time, which is not an excuse, just a fact. So, any advice to help handle this would be appreciated. Thank you very much.

just the cowboy

Inactive, Email Never Verified
What do you mean by scored

What do you mean by scored

What do you mean by the romax is scored and copper showing?
Is the romax just backing out of the box and not enough in or did they actualy nick the insulatioion.

roger

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrician
Hi All,