Installing new 320 Amp Service

Status
Not open for further replies.

jsmithWired

Hello, this is my first post, so good to meet you all.

I am an electrical contractor and will be doing a new install of a 320/400 Amp service. I have never done a 320 service before, only standard 200 and 100, etc. This is for a friend of mine, so it's basically a side job. Below is what I figured for the job and wanted to run it by some of you with experience with this type of setup. The install will be in rural Minnesota.

Underground service feed from the pad transformer to a 320/400 amp meter using 600MCM USE-2 aluminum. The run is about 350 feet, but I may have the Poco install the transformer closer to the property to shorten this up as much as possible.

The meter will be on a detached shop. From the meter, I will feed a 200 AMP MB within the shop and then run back underground to a 200 AMP MB in the house. The meter has dual lugs so I can easily run the smaller cable to each MB from there.

We want the full 200 AMP rating at both MB, in order to handle the load at each structure. Would 600 MCM aluminum handle this. The NEC reads only 385 amps for this cable but the meter is labeled at only handling up to 600 MCM on the line side. Would I need to change over to copper in order to get the full amps needed?

Also, does anyone have a good supplier for this type of cable? I usually just use Menards, HD, etc to purchase cable since I have never gone beyond 4/0. I cannot seem to find much 600 (or 650) MCM aluminum online. Everything else, just not much for 600.

Does anyone see any issues with this setup or having any suggestions? Like I said, I am unfamiliar with this type of setup and would greatly appreciate any feedback.

Thanks guys.

Dennis Alwon

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Contractor
As long as the calculated load is not more than 386 amps then 600kcm is fine.