Hot Tub GFCI

Status
Not open for further replies.

jerseyboy

I went to wire a hot tub and I noticed that the circuit board for the motor did not have a nuetral termination screw. So I checked the manual and it said do not use a nuetral conductor. Now how can I install a gfci breaker without a nuetral? :confused: I have a 40A load center ready to go...Any comments? Thanks

jerseyboy

Re: Hot Tub GFCI

Thanks, But I am a licensed electrician. I am aware of gfci operation but I never had to deal with a 3 wire hot tub before. I was always firm on the belieif that the one goes out has to come back and that is where your neutral comes in. The load side of the gfci reads it and if there is a imbalance the sensor will pick it up and trip. But there is no neutral so I just have to connect the pig tail to the main neutral bus. Thanks

james wuebker

jerseyboy
If you have your GFCI breaker in the disconnect at the tub area you need to have a neutral to that box. The GFCI needs that neutral to make it work. The GFCI will sense your 2 hot conductors and not your neutral. So on your tub side you will need your hots(ungrounded conductors) hooked to your breaker and your grounding wire hooked to your grounding wire at the disconnect. Nothing will be hooked to your neutral expect for your GFCI breaker. Also remember that you don't bond your neutral and ground together at your tub disconnect. Hope this will help.
Jim

luke warmwater

Originally posted by jerseyboy:
Thanks, But I am a licensed electrician.
Your profile states that you are an apprentice. If you've moved up, you might want to update your profile too. :)

jerseyboy