new to pool/spa wiring, seeking code clarifications

Status
Not open for further replies.

phideauxiii

Here's the situation.

Loudoun County, VA is the AHJ, inground spa is the project, and I am responsible for building the entire thing, from floating slabs, laying block, plumbing jets, and best of all, wiring and bonding the entire area. An electrician by trade, although I am unfamiliar with the delicate nature of the NEC as it applies to recreational bodies of water.

I am installing:
1) two 3hp 240VAC jet pump motors
2) one 1.5hp 120VAC filter pump
3) salt-chlorine generation unit, 120VAC
4) two underwater 120VAC luminaires, wet niche

the installation area is tight. the spa is built entirely of reinforced, solid filled CMU on a concrete slab. three sides of the spa are surrounded by an 8" vault space for plumbing, the last side of the spa is a 24" equipment vault with an access door in the retaining wall.

i have been dealing with the Loudoun County inspectors frequently, to get this one right. The inspector who comes most of the time is patient, fair, and firm (like they should be) although it's hard to get in touch with them aside from actually calling in for inspection. That's where you excellent folks come in!

OK, back to the description:

The rebar grid in the slab was bonded with #6 solid, as was the wire mesh reinforcement in the vault slab. The wet niche was bonded #6 solid to the outer lug, and with #8 stranded to the inner lug, which enters the conduit and heads off to the deck box, and potted inside the niche with evil, awful, durable Scotchcast. These bonds have been inspected and approved. Thus begins the bonding journey.

I laid 1.25" NM from the house near the main panel about 120 feet, finishing up in the equipment vault. Into that conduit, I pulled four #2 stranded THHN conductors (hot/hot/neutral/earth). I got the OK for concealment from the inspector, covered it.