Need Career Advice Please!

Status
Not open for further replies.

janutolo

so, this is my situation. I just finished college but decided i don't wanna be a teacher anymore . . . so, I took an electrician's course and passed it in 1998 . . . quite some time ago and I'm not confident I could pass the journeyman anytime soon . . . Should I work as an APRENTICE or try for the journeymen . . . I know real world experience cannot replace studying from a book.

Any help is appreciated

THanks

Jon

janutolo

Re: Need Career Advice Please!

correction . . . I Know studying from a book is not as valuable as getting hands-on experience. . .

what should i do?

friebel

To: janutolo, you did not mention what field of degree that you graduated from college with.
But, it seems that you aspire to go into the electrical field.
What part of the electrical field? My strong advice is as follows:
Take all of the certified courses of the NEC that are available. Learn all that you can about the NEC. For example, if you wanted to find employment with a Design Company, understanding the Code and how to use the Code would be a great selling point to being hired.
You mention taking an apprenticeship course to get hands-on-training. That is great if you have the time and the ambition. You could find employment with an electrical contracting firm to get the hands-on training that you desire. I have always advocated that a person going for their EE degree should work in the summer months with an electrical contractor. This certainly makes for a well-rounded EE.
Stay active with the Mike Holt web site. Get a Code Book, and I would recommend the NEC Handbook.

petersonra

Occupation
engineer

I'm not sure how it works everywhere but generally you cannot just take a test to become a journeyman electrician. You usually have to have a combintaion of work experience and schooling.

George Stolz

Staff member
Occupation
Service Manager