Recommendations for 100+ computer environment

Status
Not open for further replies.

andyf

I'm not an electrician and I'm looking for guidance.

Where would I find recommended electrical specifications for supplying multiple
computers in a non-data center, non-critical environment? (Specifically,
computer labs for student use.)

I typically have about 100-150 computers connected to a single
distribution panel (about 25 computers per classroom). I try to keep at
most 4 computers per 20Amp circuit.

My question has to do with neutral bus capacities and whether or not
isolated-ground circuits are suggested.

At one time, I was told that computers need IG circuits. I then learned
that 200% neutral bus capacities are more important because of the
harmonics that computers put on the electrical system. I don't know where the 200% neutral applies though.

At this point, I don't know what to request.

(I will forever have the memory of the president's computer freezing up
because the electrical circuit his computer used was connected to the
same distribution panel as a circuit where someone was using a jack
hammer.)

The typical configuration appears to be:
bldg feed->main panel->distribution panel->outlet

I'm sure there's information you need that I didn't provide. Let me know.

Thanks for any information you can provide.
Andy Farrior
IT Director
Victoria College

petersonra

Occupation
engineer
Re: Recommendations for 100+ computer environment

You seem to be on the right track. Isolated ground (somewhat of a misnomer) is probably not really needed, as it really does not do much for you.

With the small loads you have on the 20A circuits your neutrals are quite adequate, although the engineer reviewing the electrical drawings may wish to ensure the feeder conductor neutral is adequately sized.