Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Sizing Multi-Family Service

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    3

    Sizing Multi-Family Service

    I'm having a new electrical service installed on a 6-family house with gas heat, gas hot water and gas stoves. Currently (pun intended) it's being served by 6 60-amp services with no problem. I'm being forced to upgrade the service for basement lighting and very, very limited exterior lighting. I have NO intention of installing electric ranges ever. Does the electrical code REQUIRE that I size the new service to provide for electric stoves even if I don't have them? If not, could you show me the part of the code that applies?

    Second question - Am I required to provide exterior lighting from the parking area to the stairways (20-30 ft.)?

    My local inspector has been BRUTAL in interpreting everything as severely as possible, and my only defense is a code citation.

    Thanks in advance!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    48,239

    Arrow

    This site is designed for:

    • Contractors
    • Electricians
    • Engineers
    • Inspectors
    • Instructors
    • Other electrically related individuals
    * This NECĀ® Forum is for those in the electrical and related industries. Questions of a "How-To" nature by persons not involved in the electrical industry will be removed without notice.

    As long as your just looking for code help we can help you, but no DIY advice will be given.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    38
    ....................... won't even bid work for them.

    Moderator Edit, Jim keep it professional or don't bother posting.
    Last edited by iwire; 08-23-08 at 06:39 AM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    3
    Am I missing something here? I'm NOT going to put in the service myself.

    I AM asking a code-related question.....whether or not the code requires sizing for electric stoves when none exist. I've been beaten up by an unscrupulous inspector for 19 months, with him demanding things that are far beyond the intent of the code.

    If he's pressing for things that far exceed the code requirements, and thus will cost me much more $$, shouldn't I be able to ask you? Apparently one poster was offended and his post got edited. The gist of it was that he wouldn't even bid on the job. Why not?? How can I comply if, as soon as the situation becomes clear, electricians "run for the hills"?

    What do you suggest I do?

    Thanks.......a lot

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia
    Posts
    21,838
    From what I gather, all you need to do is add a house panel, and leave the six units alone.
    Code references based on 2005 NEC
    Larry B. Fine
    Master Electrician
    Electrical Contractor
    Richmond, VA

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Connecticut
    Posts
    3
    with a 7'th meter, I now need a house disconnect. This means relocating meters from basement as well. My inspector is Relentless in upping permit fees.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    48,239
    Quote Originally Posted by tanksalot
    I'm NOT going to put in the service myself.
    Then we can help you. :smile:

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    10,428
    Quote Originally Posted by tanksalot
    I've been beaten up by an unscrupulous inspector for 19 months, with him demanding things that are far beyond the intent of the code.
    I don't deny that is possible, but right now it's hearsay. What exactly is the inspector demanding that is "far above the intent of the code?" We need exact details to tell you what is and what is not within bounds of the NEC.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    New England
    Posts
    10,428
    Quote Originally Posted by tanksalot
    with a 7'th meter, I now need a house disconnect.
    Yes, the NEC requires this. By "house disconnect" I assume that you mean a main disconnect. This is unavoidable.

    Quote Originally Posted by tanksalot
    This means relocating meters from basement as well.

    This is quite likely a poco requirement. Are you a CL&P or UI customer? Also unavoidable. Well, you can avoid it, and the poco can deny you service too.


    Quote Originally Posted by tanksalot
    I'm being forced to upgrade the service for basement lighting and very, very limited exterior lighting.
    You mean, you are "forced" into being code compliant? The NEC does not allow these loads to be served by tenant meters.
    Last edited by peter d; 08-23-08 at 11:50 AM.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Right here.
    Posts
    12,326
    Sounds like you need a 7th meter and disconnect. That 7th disconnect is going to trigger requirements for one big disconnect ahead of the whole works. With me so far? Installing that big disconnect is going to dictate some changes in the present gutter arrangement. These changes probably mean you're going to have to move your metering equipment outdoors to comply with the current PoCo rules, lest they won't supply power to you upon reconnect. The inspector seems to be wanting to enforce this PoCo requirement, whether out of spite or maybe he's trying to give you a friendly head's up to save you heartache.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •