Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Wire Tracer

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    1,525

    Wire Tracer

    We have some dead circuits is an older office trailer. The wiring is romex. Does anyone have any recomendations for a tracer? I'm thinking of maybe an RF source clipped on one end, and a receiver to find the other end - but I don't know. Can't say I have ever done any trouble shooting on romex, concealed wiring. Most of the stuff I need to trace, I can folllow the conduit.

    carl
    Using the code for a design guide is a sign of incompetance

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    massachusetts
    Posts
    3,166
    the tracer i like to use is the greenlee model. works fine for me never had a problem with it. it does take a little practice to get used too. ive used the ideal suretest before. rumor has it that the amprobe model is really good.

    the greenlee model i have is the 2011 it was about 550 dollars. the ideal suretest is the same price for just the receiver and transmitter but they make a model with an inductive clip and battery pack for 1000 or so dollars. the amprobe model is around the same price.

    rack a tiers has a product called the circuit siren. you plug in the device and it makes a loud noise and you just flip the circuit breakers until it shuts off

    ive also used a radio in the past when i was alone and couldnt afford a decent tracer

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    106
    Quote Originally Posted by coulter
    We have some dead circuits is an older office trailer. The wiring is romex. Does anyone have any recomendations for a tracer? I'm thinking of maybe an RF source clipped on one end, and a receiver to find the other end - but I don't know. Can't say I have ever done any trouble shooting on romex, concealed wiring. Most of the stuff I need to trace, I can folllow the conduit.

    carl
    u can use a tone generator, a device made by progressive is a good one to use. they go about $85-$90 in home depot in my neck of the woods.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    massachusetts
    Posts
    3,166
    Quote Originally Posted by cloudymacleod
    u can use a tone generator, a device made by progressive is a good one to use. they go about $85-$90 in home depot in my neck of the woods.
    tone generators are great tools but they dont work on live circuits. they blow up a little bit with 120 volts i want to get that fluke intellaprobe or whatever its called. its a tone generator with a cat5 tester and it works great

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Eastern Oregon
    Posts
    2,598
    The Amprobe 2005 I have seems to work pretty slick the few times I've used it. I bought it, then it seemed like all the "dead circuit" calls dried up.:rolleyes: :grin:

    I think it runs around $950 new or you can buy it off Ebay lightly used for about half that, like I did.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Posts
    1,525
    Thanks for the suggestions. I'll look around in town tomorrow. I've got a feeling I'll be ordering something in.

    carl
    Using the code for a design guide is a sign of incompetance

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Baltimore, MD
    Posts
    83
    my boss has one made by Fluke. It's really small easy to use and the "gator clips" support the weight of the unit when cliped on.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Tyler, Texas
    Posts
    38
    I just picked up my Ideal SureTest 954 yesterday morning and put it to work today labeling an unmarked panel. This is the first tracer I have ever held in my hands, and simply plugging it into receptacles and finding breakers worked great. I work solo, and this was a very large house full of kids, so no radio was going to work. The only problems I had today .. the 220 breakers and the light circuits. I'm thinking I might should have gotten the inductor coil to keep from having to unhook hard wired circuits. It also goes a bit funky if someone has tied neutrals together throughout several circuits. I'm sure there's a way to make this work better in that instance, I just have to read the manual and educate myself. For straight out of the box though, it worked like a charm.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Durham, NC
    Posts
    5,145
    I'm surprised the low voltage guys didn't speak up, I've seen them use sound-scream toners and another inexpense devices... phone toners and other stuff...

    Granted its all in what one needs, but!

    I spent some time using classic combinations of words and searched www.fluke.com, maybe its just that, I didn't find anything.
    What devices ? ...
    Last edited by cadpoint; 09-04-08 at 07:28 PM.
    = : )

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •