80 amp cord on 100 amp plugs, inspector said NO!?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Waynehof

We have 480v 3Ph 62amp portable electric heaters we build for our service work we perform. We work in Industrial facilitys and shipyards. Ive allways built extension cables for this equipment with 100 amp cord ends with type W cable rated at 77 amps.
I install a 80 amp main (or suplemental) breaker in our heater. Its under supervision by qualified persons ect....
The outlet i plug into has a 100 amp CB.
Ive been doing this kind of thing on portable cords for 30 years (doesnt make it right if its wrong..) and never had an inspector say NO.
The other day an inspector quoted 240.5 and said I cant have a 100amp breaker supplying a 77amp cord....

I tried to remember the rule i used for having the 80 amp breaker (in the equipment being serviced) on the 77 amp cord and the rule where i used the suplemental breaker to protect the cord at 80 amps... I couldnt remember, maybe it was from a 1983 code book (lolol).
Am i doing this within an "Exception" type rule or have i been doing this wrong for 35 years....
Thanks for any help.

steve66

Occupation
Engineer
We have 480v 3Ph 62amp portable electric heaters we build for our service work we perform. We work in Industrial facilitys and shipyards. Ive allways built extension cables for this equipment with 100 amp cord ends with type W cable rated at 77 amps.
I install a 80 amp main (or suplemental) breaker in our heater. Its under supervision by qualified persons ect....
Ive been doing this kind of thing on portable cords for 30 years (doesnt make it right if its wrong..) and never had an inspector say NO.
The other day an inspector quoted 240.5 and said I cant have a 100amp breaker supplying a 77amp cord....