Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: How many conductors does Ethernet require.

Question How many conductors does Ethernet require.

OK I know Cat 5, Cat 5E, Cat 6 etc all contain 4 pairs (8 conductors) but how many can I make it work with?

I have a situation with a customer that is running a phone on one pair leaving 3 pairs for the PC. Now it appears one pair is open.

Can I make it work on just two pairs?

This is not subject to any testing or certification, all they care about is getting it to work. I suggested wireless but they do not want to go that way.

Bob I have never seen ethernet work on less than 4 pair. I am no expert but I have seen many times where one wire was loose and the system would not work.

Obviously running a new wire is not a option so wireless, as you suggested, would be the way to go. Better yet use a wireless phone. They have phones that you plug in a transmitter at a wall jack and picks up a wireless signal for the phone.

Quote Originally Posted by Dennis Alwon View Post
    Bob I have never seen ethernet work on less than 4 pair.
    It has been functional on no more then three pairs for at least 5 years. It just stopped working.

When I put a cheap leviton tester on it it indicated I had pairs 1,2 and 3,6 working.

Since I posted this thread I found this

Standards Summary

which seems to indicate that I have enough and the problem is not the cabling.

Obviously running a new wire is not a option so wireless, as you suggested,
    Distance is short, but it would be real tough and cost prohibitive.

Better yet use a wireless phone.
    That is some great thinking but unfortunately it is not a standard phone it is a 'system' phone with many features.

They have phones that you plug in a transmitter at a wall jack and picks up a wireless signal for the phone.

Hmmm I wonder if that would run the special phone?

Quote Originally Posted by iwire View Post