PVC conduit to PCV nail-on boxes in new construction

Status
Not open for further replies.

SteveGraham

I'm a contractor, working for a client who has asked me to use PVC conduit in the walls of his new house. I normally use romex so this is somewhat new to me. In terms of connecting the conduit to typical 22 c.i. PVC nail-on outlet boxes, can I drill holes in the box sides then slide the ends of the conduit into them?

I'm not sure if this makes any difference but I thought I should mention it: After the rough plumbing and electrical is done, the wall cavities will be poured full of aerated concrete thus sealing any gaps between the conduit and boxes and anchoring everything in position permanently.

kwired

Electron manager
I'm a contractor, working for a client who has asked me to use PVC conduit in the walls of his new house. I normally use romex so this is somewhat new to me. In terms of connecting the conduit to typical 22 c.i. PVC nail-on outlet boxes, can I drill holes in the box sides then slide the ends of the conduit into them?

I'm not sure if this makes any difference but I thought I should mention it: After the rough plumbing and electrical is done, the wall cavities will be poured full of aerated concrete thus sealing any gaps between the conduit and boxes and anchoring everything in position permanently.
Only thing I can think of that may be a NEC violation would possibly be 110.3(B).

Why not use NM 4x4 boxes and mud rings? would likely be easier to work in when it is time to pull conductors.

ActionDave

Chief Moderator
Staff member
Durango, CO, 10 h 20 min from the winged horses.
Occupation
Licensed Electrician
I think you would be a whole lot better off using mason boxes or 1900 boxes and mud rings.

One this is for sure, this house is going to cost a whole lot more than one where you can use romex....lots more....gobs and gobs more....I hope not more than you or the owner thinks.

Welcome to the forum.

kwired

Electron manager