Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Cutting holes in panel covers

Question Cutting holes in panel covers

Is it legal according to the NEC to cut a hole on a CB panel cover for a receptacle? Someone wants me to do that but I said I didn't think it could be done. If anything it would be a listing issue right?
    *Sometimes I wonder why the frisbee keeps getting bigger...and then it hits me!

bad move.

I spent an hour or two with square D tech support the other day ordering a new deadfront (inspector demanded) because some clown put 34 spaces in a 32 space panel.

I'm no expert but I don't see how you could do it without violating the ul listing of the cover.

If you look at the Code for what it is, it is really a safety device. However, much of any such wording is impractical or irrelevant in certain situations.
    In this case, you could figure any modification, at all, to a mechanically produced part violates the listing and is therefore taboo. However, we routinely punch our own holes in panels and boxes.
    So the thing to do is ask yourself: "Is this compromising safety?" The hole you punch is the right size and in the appropriate location. Better, in fact, than what the factory can do.
    Now you mention that this is for a recptacle. The Code is mainly concerned with making sure that there are no un-occupied holes and that the panel is not overloaded. Are you going to punch those two, semi-circular holes in the panel cover? I would suggest punching a big hole for the whole shibob and using a receptacle plate.
    Or you could chicken out and just add an external handy box for the recept.
    ~Peter

Quote Originally Posted by peter View Post
    ...Or you could chicken out and just add an external handy box for the recept.
    ~Peter
    Well the problem is that there is only abotu 1.5" of space around the edges of the panel
    *Sometimes I wonder why the frisbee keeps getting bigger...and then it hits me!