Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 25

Thread: 2 Pole Arc Fault Breaker Question.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    26

    2 Pole Arc Fault Breaker Question.

    Hello all, I recently ran into a square D homeline panel. A previous electrician who is not finishing the job ran a 12/3 homerun to the bedrooms upstairs. I thought it was no big deal until I discovered that Square D does not make a 2 Pole Arc Fault breaker. Only single poles. Is their any other option for me? I never interchange brands of breakers, but is their an alternative besides running 2 separate 12/2's?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    639
    2008 code calls for breakers feeding a multiple hot romex (12/3) to have the handles tied together. Buy (2) single pole breakers and a handle tie.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    1,807
    Quote Originally Posted by laketime View Post
    2008 code calls for breakers feeding a multiple hot romex (12/3) to have the handles tied together. Buy (2) single pole breakers and a handle tie.
    Then he won't be able to use arc-fault breakers.

    Sorry, aptman3, you'll need to pull another 12-2 unless you plan on changing the whole panel.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Val Vegas, GA
    Posts
    3,048
    does anyone make a 2-pole AFCI yet?


    might look into a 2-space panel if so . . . otherwise, . . . . more cabling needed.
    Brought to you by Carl's Jr. ©

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2004
    Posts
    3,849
    Just mount a 2 pole CH arc fault breaker and small sub box next to your panel.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    PA
    Posts
    222
    Quote Originally Posted by aptman3 View Post
    Hello all, I recently ran into a square D homeline panel.
    Did it hurt?

    Welcome to the forum.
    Chris Sharp
    Certifiable Electrician

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    26
    I am writing this from the hospital :grin: still recovering from the collision.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Southern Utah, USA
    Posts
    44

    How many bedrooms?

    It may be possible to combine the circuits and use a single afci breaker depending on the # of bedrooms.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Iowegia
    Posts
    16,833
    Quote Originally Posted by brantmacga View Post
    does anyone make a 2-pole AFCI yet?


    might look into a 2-space panel if so . . . otherwise, . . . . more cabling needed.

    Siemens does.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    1,807
    Quote Originally Posted by satcom View Post
    Just mount a 2 pole CH arc fault breaker and small sub box next to your panel.
    Ah yes, I second this notion. A little bit more in materials, a lot less labor.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •