Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: BRRRR! pipes froze heat tape on PEX???

BRRRR! pipes froze heat tape on PEX???

My water lines froze - remodel pex lines are ran up the north wall- Tried this/Tried that, I ended up cuttung a holesaw in the lower part of the wall and blowing a hairdryer in the wall.
    HELLO Northen boys-- Is there any type of heat-tape rated for PEX?? can you run it inside of a finnished wall. 100year old Wood on the exterior and drywall/plaster on the inside.??

Usually, the piping is inside the insulation envelope. You may want to re-route the piping.
    Code references based on 2005 NEC
    Larry B. Fine
    Master Electrician
    Electrical Contractor
    Richmond, VA

Quote Originally Posted by rt66electric View Post
    .........Is there any type of heat-tape rated for PEX?? .......

I'm no expert, but I think any self-regulating heat tape would work. How hot do you think it gets.... 300°?

NE (9.1 miles @5.07 Degrees from Winged Horses)
    Run the pipes on the inside of the room, not in the wall. Insulation keeps the heat away just as well as it it keeps the cold out.
    Tom
    TBLO

Quote Originally Posted by ptonsparky View Post
    Run the pipes on the inside of the room, not in the wall .
    That sounds attractive.
    There are two kinds of people - those smart enough to know they don’t know, and those dumb enough to insist they do.-----Margery Eagan

Open shop since 1988

Quote Originally Posted by rt66electric View Post
    My water lines froze - remodel pex lines are ran up the north wall- Tried this/Tried that, I ended up cuttung a holesaw in the lower part of the wall and blowing a hairdryer in the wall.
    HELLO Northen boys-- Is there any type of heat-tape rated for PEX?? can you run it inside of a finnished wall. 100year old Wood on the exterior and drywall/plaster on the inside.??

This may be crazy but I'll give it a go. It's called "google"

http://www.ppfahome.org/pex/faqpex.html