Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: FLA vs. FLC

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    AFG
    Posts
    767

    FLA vs. FLC

    Can anybody tell me the difference between the FLA vs FLC.
    "Imagination is more important than knowledge."

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    North Logan, Utah
    Posts
    7,939
    FLA= Full Load Amps

    FLC= Full Load Current

    They basically mean the same thing.

    Chris

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Macon,GA
    Posts
    200
    They are the same, Full Load Current = Full Load Amps. I see FLC when referring to OCPD and FLA when speaking of equipment.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    San Francisco, CA, USA
    Posts
    3,732
    Semantics, i.e. how they are used in a sentence. Example:

    My motor has an FLC of 28A.
    But saying "My motor has an FLA of 29A" is being redundant because "amps" is already implied by the acronym "FLA". If I say "The FLA of my motor is 28" I am being technically correct, but it sounds odd.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia
    Posts
    21,838
    Quote Originally Posted by Jraef View Post
    But saying "My motor has an FLA of 29A" is being redundant because "amps" is already implied by the acronym "FLA".
    That's like AC current and DC current, PIN numbers and VIN numbers, and LCD displays.
    Code references based on 2005 NEC
    Larry B. Fine
    Master Electrician
    Electrical Contractor
    Richmond, VA

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    6,386
    Quote Originally Posted by LarryFine View Post
    That's like AC current and DC current, PIN numbers and VIN numbers, and LCD displays.
    Tautological perhaps?
    :grin:

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    7,477
    Quote Originally Posted by Besoeker View Post
    Tautological perhaps?
    :grin:
    Needless tautological redundancy. :grin:
    BB+/BB=?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    48,734
    Quote Originally Posted by LarryFine View Post
    That's like AC current and DC current, PIN numbers and VIN numbers, and LCD displays.
    The one I notice a lot at work is EMS system or BAS system.

    'We were contracted to install the Energy Management System System'

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Columbus, Ohio
    Posts
    2,234
    Quote Originally Posted by LarryFine View Post
    That's like AC current and DC current, PIN numbers and VIN numbers, and LCD displays.
    Or like saying L.B.F. is a fine electrician. :grin:

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    massachusetts
    Posts
    3,166
    FLC is used when you size breaker size and wire size for motors.

    FLA (located on the motor) is used to size overload protection for motors

    the tables in 430 part XIV are FLC and what you need to size circuit ampacity

    read 430.51 and 430.31

    FLA and FLC mean the same thing for the most part. but in the real world the FLA of the motor is always less than the FLC in the tables.
    "Most good electricians are pretty sure that they are the best and the great ones never stop trying to be."

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •