Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26

Thread: 208 volt circuit and receptacle

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    232

    208 volt circuit and receptacle

    I have a job installing a circuit for a 208 volt copy machine. The specifications call for a NEMA 6-15 2 pole, 3 wire, grounding rated at 250V/ 15AMP.

    What is up with this? If I install this type of receptacle on a 208 volt circuit--what would prevent some unsuspecting person from plugging a 240V device into this receptacle?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Iowegia
    Posts
    16,828
    You have to install a 250v receptacle.... there is no such thing as a 208 volt receptacle.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    232
    Quote Originally Posted by 480sparky View Post
    You have to install a 250v receptacle.... there is no such thing as a 208 volt receptacle.
    Great. So there is nothing to alert the consumer that the receptacle is actually supplied by 208 and not 240 volts?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    1,559
    Quote Originally Posted by Greg1707 View Post
    Great. So there is nothing to alert the consumer that the receptacle is actually supplied by 208 and not 240 volts?
    Only the label that you put on it. (And the knowledge that most larger commercial buildings are 120/208, so nothing will actually be 240v.)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    48,278
    Quote Originally Posted by 480sparky View Post
    You have to install a 250v receptacle.... there is no such thing as a 208 volt receptacle.
    Take a look at a NEMA 18.

    But for 2 pole, 3 wire, grounding plugs and receptacles I agree with you.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia
    Posts
    21,838
    Quote Originally Posted by Greg1707 View Post
    So there is nothing to alert the consumer that the receptacle is actually supplied by 208 and not 240 volts?
    Only the knowledge that almost everything is rated for 208v or 240v these days.
    Code references based on 2005 NEC
    Larry B. Fine
    Master Electrician
    Electrical Contractor
    Richmond, VA

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    232

    minimun number of conductors

    Thanks for the information. I don't have much experience with this voltage so please excuse the following question. Am I correct in assuming that I can run two 208 volt circuits using a three wire MWB?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    48,278
    Quote Originally Posted by Greg1707 View Post
    Thanks for the information. I don't have much experience with this voltage so please excuse the following question. Am I correct in assuming that I can run two 208 volt circuits using a three wire MWB?

    No.

    Two 208 volt single phase circuits requires four conductors plus a equipment grounding means.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    VA
    Posts
    232
    Quote Originally Posted by iwire View Post
    No.

    Two 208 volt single phase circuits requires four conductors plus a equipment grounding means.
    Thanks for saving me on this one!!

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Richmond, Virginia
    Posts
    21,838
    Of course, Bob's answer didn't include: "But, you can run a single MWBC (Multi-Wire Branch Circuit) to supply two loads, depending on whether the loads require individual supplies."

    For two copiers, or any two similar loads, I wouldn't even consider doing it.
    Code references based on 2005 NEC
    Larry B. Fine
    Master Electrician
    Electrical Contractor
    Richmond, VA

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •