I need help with these calculations.

Status
Not open for further replies.

kefox81

I am currently studying for my Masters test in West Virginia. This math is giving me trouble. I have a practice test but I keep getting the wrong answers even though I think I am right. And some of it though I cant figure out what to do. Should I post them individually or can I put them all in this thread and someone show me step by step how to do them? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

junkhound

Occupation
EE, power electronics specialty
And hopefully folks can help you see the WHY and HOW the math can work, rather than just plugging numbers into a standard set of rules.

kefox81

Here is problem one.

Here is problem one.

First let me start out by saying I appreciate the responses. Here is question number 1.
For the purpose of calculating neutral demand, a 15 kW range would add:
a. 15 kW
b. 9.2kW
c. 7.36 kW
d. 6.44 kW

The book says the correct answer is D. But I come up with B, 9.2 kW.
Here is how I am doing it. I go to chart 220.55 in my NEC book and read note 1. I then counted up from 12 to 15 which gave me a total of 3. I then added 5% to each one to get 15%. I then take and go to column C of chart 220.55 and find that I use the number 8. I then take and do 8kW x 15% which gives me 1.2 kW. I then add the 1.2 kW to the 8 and get 9.2 kW. Am I right or is the book right? If I am wrong can someone please show me what I did wrong? Thanks again.

Ponchik

Occupation
Electronologist
You take your calculation that gave 9.2 KW then take 70% of it in order to size the neutral. The question is asking about the neutral.

This number 6.44 is added to other neutral calculation to come up with a TOTAL neutral load inorder to size the neutral conductor for the service.

topgone

The catch is "neutral demand"! NEC allows computing the neutral load equal to 70% of dryers, counter-mounted cooking units, electric ranges and ovens. Please read 220.61.