VFD power cell failure

Status
Not open for further replies.

rian0201

Hi,

I'm new to VFDs and one friend of mine asked me about the problem they had with their VFD.

The motor is 3.5MW induction motor with 4.16kV rated voltage. The VFD is fed from a 13.2kV line with an isolation transformer to 4.16kV inside the compartment.

The problem is that when there is a shutdown, due to a fault in the 13.2kV line, the power cell will be busted. If this is a normal shutdown sequence, it is okay for only few hours i think around 2 to 3 hours, and the VFD wont start and sometimes displays power cell fault.

Can anyone suggest reasons for power cell faults in VFDs?

I'm new to VFDs and its recording its not that detailed compared compared to a relay. I thought thatbthis may be a power quality issue at the source.

Thanks..

Sent from my vivo 1606 using Tapatalk

Jraef

Moderator, OTD
Staff member
Occupation
Electrical Engineer
Depends on the type of VFD. At that size and voltage there are several options for how the VFD is designed, so "power cell" is not enough of a differentiator. Was it a power cell in the converter (rectifier) section or in the inverter (output) section that goes to the motor? If the failure was in the inverter, it's not likely a power quality issue.

If you don't know the specifics, post the brand and model, we can tell from that.

Besoeker

Hi,

I'm new to VFDs and one friend of mine asked me about the problem they had with their VFD.

The motor is 3.5MW induction motor with 4.16kV rated voltage. The VFD is fed from a 13.2kV line with an isolation transformer to 4.16kV inside the compartment.

The problem is that when there is a shutdown, due to a fault in the 13.2kV line, the power cell will be busted. If this is a normal shutdown sequence, it is okay for only few hours i think around 2 to 3 hours, and the VFD wont start and sometimes displays power cell fault.