Too high or too low

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am a small contractor just really starting off and I charge a flat rate of 80 per hour 25 per hour drive time any distance over 45 minutes I always get told that my final price is shockingly affordable. Minus the material which receipts back up. It makes me wonder if A I'm doing the work cheaply or B I'm able to get the work done quickly and the final bill is "too low" should I be charging more or should I take advantage of the repeat referrals and let it ride. Not asking for amounts. Just thoughts and past experiences thanks guys

Do you have a minimum charge? I think a 1/2 day or even full day minimum charge is reasonable. If you often hear how cheap it is, then yes prob you should charge more. It should "hurt' a bit to have a professional come to your house and fix something - I don't mean like angry never call you again hurt, but it shouldn't be cheap. I had to have a surveyor come flag one of my property lines. It was $150/hr billed from the time they left the office till the time they got back.

Fixed price can work out real well, as some people get immediately freaked out hearing some "high" per hour figure. Services are a good example. $2500 or whatever doesn't seem like that much for what you get, but break it down per hour people are more likely to think its high.

How much you need work/money and your security level is a big part of it too.

readydave8

re member
Occupation
electrician
keep it simple, adjust your prices so that customer doesn't know how you're charging drive time, just charge enough to include

and if some jobs are out of your normal territory, charge drive time at full rate, tell customer when quoting prices so no surprises later

NE (9.06 miles @5.9 Degrees from Winged Horses)
Occupation
EC - retired