Thread: Rule of Thumb for estimating man-hours?

Rule of Thumb for estimating man-hours?

Please let me introduce myself before asking my question.

My name is Eric and I'm a Network Engineer in central Ohio. I do have a background that includes a lot of low voltage cabling in single-family & MDU residential units and in commercial sites (retrofit & greenfield) but I never really got into the high voltage side.

Currently I'm working on preparing an RFP that involves about 150 sites all of the US that will include both low voltage, mainly UTP cable AND electrical installations, some of which will almost certainly include conduit installation.

I won't be doing the installations myself, but I do need to have a clue in those areas where I don't have experience. OBVIOUSLY, I need to buy a NECA manual. Hopefully I can expense that since they aren't cheap, but I thought it would be helpful to have SOME sort of starting point to assist me in bringing my boss down to the real world on this project.

So here's the basic question...

Assuming a two man team, is there a rule of thumb to make a general guess-timate of the man-hours required to install a run of conduit?

Such as: 500 linear feet of metallic conduit installed over a 10 foot suspended ceiling = X number of hours per Y number of feet?

I realize that such a rule of thumb wouldn't be useful for cost estimating, and that the answer will vary based on the schedule, wall penetrations and may be quite different from non-metallic conduit. But that's OK... I just need to be able to make an educated guess of the man-hours required to complete a single site installation if I know how many electrical/data runs I have and what installation standards I'll need to follow.

Secondary question...
    Is there an electronic/DVD/subscription version of the NECA Labor Units manual that anyone is very happy with and would suggest as an option?