Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: grounding electrode system

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    los angeles ca
    Posts
    275

    grounding electrode system

    just went to look at 8 meter/fuse upgrade job. all is going to be smooth except for grounding.
    main cold water entry is on other side of concrete slab. ive ran into things like this in the past with different inspector opinions. am i good with 2 ground rods more than 6 ft apart and bonding nearest cold water line or must i be within first 5' of water entry thus breaking up lots of nice walkway and if so what is best metod for running gec through dirt?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Easton, Maryland NEC: 2011
    Posts
    7,548
    Quote Originally Posted by bobbymari View Post
    just went to look at 8 meter/fuse upgrade job. all is going to be smooth except for grounding.
    main cold water entry is on other side of concrete slab. ive ran into things like this in the past with different inspector opinions. am i good with 2 ground rods more than 6 ft apart and bonding nearest cold water line or must i be within first 5' of water entry thus breaking up lots of nice walkway and if so what is best metod for running gec through dirt?
    Gotta be 5' if the water line qualifies as an electrode. 250.52(A)(1).

    I would sleeve it in PVC.
    "Electricity is really just organized lightning." George Carlin


    Derék

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Durango, CO
    Posts
    3,283
    What is the building made of? If there is building steel you could run a GEC to the steel and then use a jumper from the steel to the water pipe.
    Last edited by ActionDave; 04-11-12 at 12:53 AM. Reason: Clarification , not the jumper who is a member here.
    If Billy Idol or John Denver is on your Ipod go and re-evaluate your life.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Easton, Maryland NEC: 2011
    Posts
    7,548
    Quote Originally Posted by ActionDave View Post
    What is the building made of? If there is building steel you could run a GEC to the steel and then use a jumper from the steel to the water pipe.
    Yeah, that dawned on me also. How is the water pipe not in the building?

    Reason: Clarification , not the jumper who is a member here.
    What did you write I missed it?
    Last edited by jumper; 04-11-12 at 01:01 AM.
    "Electricity is really just organized lightning." George Carlin


    Derék

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    los angeles ca
    Posts
    275
    250.53b doesnt this constitute the 2 rod system once you go down to 250.53d2 exception. to me that says 2 rods and tag the water line at any convieniant point

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    los angeles ca
    Posts
    275
    yes tthe water pipe eventually is in the building but entry point is on other side of a walkway thus ripping walkway would be necessary to hit it within 5'

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Durango, CO
    Posts
    3,283
    I don't have my codebook but you have use all electrodes present, if your waterline is one of the electrodes then you have to supplement it. If your extra electrode is a groundrod then you drive two. Dependiing on what is present you may not need to drive rods at all.
    If Billy Idol or John Denver is on your Ipod go and re-evaluate your life.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Easton, Maryland NEC: 2011
    Posts
    7,548
    Quote Originally Posted by bobbymari View Post
    yes tthe water pipe eventually is in the building but entry point is on other side of a walkway thus ripping walkway would be necessary to hit it within 5'
    I do not understand. How can it be in the building, but across a walkway? I am assuming an exterior walkway?

    Where it enters a property is not important, but where it enters the building is.

    Am I missing something?
    "Electricity is really just organized lightning." George Carlin


    Derék

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    los angeles ca
    Posts
    275
    ok now we are on the same page this is argument Ive had with inspectors, I to say its where it enters building. Some inspectors have said its where main water disconnect is which in this case would be accross walkway. This affects bid is why I bring it up.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Durango, CO
    Posts
    3,283
    Quote Originally Posted by bobbymari View Post
    yes tthe water pipe eventually is in the building but entry point is on other side of a walkway thus ripping walkway would be necessary to hit it within 5'
    Is the service attached to the building?
    If Billy Idol or John Denver is on your Ipod go and re-evaluate your life.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •