Switch a light that goes directly to a panel

Status
Not open for further replies.

Redrum

Hi;

I could use a good idea. I am not a professional, but am experienced and have permitted my work with inspections passed. Just so you know.....

I am rewiring a seasonal camp (cabin) that is down a hill, with about a 100' walk up to the top where a garage is located and cars are parked. It is in the woods in northern new york, so nightime is very dark. When people leave after dark, we walk them up the hill with flashlights.

The previous owner installed a mercury vapor light at the top of the hill for the parking area and travel up and down the hill. They ran the power for the light from the power mast into pole mounted to a tree. I am unsure of the cable type, but it looks like two individual black sheathed conductors wound around a cable (guy wire), very similar to the power feed.

They ran the feed to the light directly to a breaker in the panel, i.e. to turn on the light, you need to turn on the breaker. I imagine the reasoning is to leave it on all of the time.

Believe it or not, the association for the area would like us to limit "light pollution" at night, and I have to agree when out at a fire, star watching, etc, pitch black is pretty cool. So, I don't want to have the light on all night. I would like to change the light over to a LED on/off 2 head security light, and wire to a switch near the entrance to the camp for people who leave after dark.

The problem I could use ideas on is how to terminate the wire to the switch. Obviously, the wire to the light runs into the panel through the conduit that the power feed runs through, and is short once in the box. I suppose I could attach a junction box to the panel via very short conduit, feed the field wired into it,run a wire to the switch location, then pull the breaker feed into the junction box and connect.