Am I on the right career path? What can I do to set myself up for Project Management?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello,

I am fairly new to the industry and I wanted to make sure I am doing my best to prepare me for a bright future in this trade. I wasn't really sure where to ask this other than here, but if you have any other resources I would love to read it.

My background:

• Currently 24 Years old
  • Graduated in Fall 2017 with a BA in Management Information Systems/Project Management
  • Have 2 internships with a Large 1 billion $+ electrical contractor, one in Engineering back in 2012 when I first started college, and one in Project Management in Summer 2017, both 4 months each
  • Currently have 7 months of experience with a small union shop. Started as a Project Management Assistant for my first 4 months.
  • Last 3 months was changed to a Project Engineer which entails Project Management Assistant, Estimating, and Purchasing

I am looking for my best options at this point in my career.

1. First, I do not intend to leave my current employer, as I feel I need to build up more experience. I also personally think having both PM and Estimating under my belt will make me more valuable. If I am wrong on this, please let me know?
  2. I do want to pursue certifications that will make me a stronger employee in this industry. I do not qualify for PMP but I am considering going for the CAPM. Also looking at basic certs like OSHA 30. Thoughts?
  3. What can I request from my employer to ensure I get the most experience and training as possible? Should I ask for more PM work? More responsibility? My own project (to be shadowed by a PM)?

Some more general questions...

1. Does the fact my degree isn't in construction hurt me?
  2. How can I gain more field experience or training while staying in the office side?