NM cable inside of cold air return ?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Foiled...

Foiled...

I am no expert in plenum and such. However, I would say it is extremely reckless to allow a conductor to be in potential contact with any material that is conductive without an easy route to ground. I understand the ducts inner space is simply fiberglass, yet the outside is almost always tin, aluminum, or even a foil type of material. It would be impossible to properly bond any foil (w/o the chance of sepertion) thus creating a potential for an unsuspecting worker to become a ground source in the event of a short. Furthermore, the perpensity of condenstion buildup (due to age, improper install, enviroment, etc) acting as a conductor is just to much for a professional to sleep at night.

JFletcher

what about a manufactured floor truss, made of 2 x 4 s ? The HVAC man will close off a section of this space. Thanks

Is this in a dwelling? Even if so, the exception does not mention trusses. You cannot form a single closed ceiling cavity where trusses are involved without extra work. If the HVAC guy is closing off the section with metal ductwork, then your cabling is not in an air handling space. Your cabling could not go straight through his ductwork, or through another method of enclosing a single truss run, like it being sheetrocked from the inside.

infinity

Staff member
Occupation
Journeyman Electrician