Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: UV damage and ladders

UV damage and ladders

I have noticed that the sun can be brutal to ladders.
    What steps do others take to protect ladders and get the most use out of an investment?
    I was reading about periodically coat ladders with polyurethane, wax or acrylic paint, to combat the effects of sunlight on the ladder.
    still commited to non violence and passive resistance

I have no experience with polyutherane or wax, but I do know never ever paint a ladder. The

reasoning is that the paint will make a defect in the ladder harder to see. Painting your company

name or such in stencils on the ladder should not be a problem.
    Electricity is Color Blind
    Leave the shirt pocket rules in your pocket.

Quote Originally Posted by John120/240 View Post
    I have no experience with polyutherane or wax, but I do know never ever paint a ladder. The

reasoning is that the paint will make a defect in the ladder harder to see. Painting your company

name or such in stencils on the ladder should not be a problem.
    It was my assumption that painting was a no no also. I was surprised that Ehow suggested it.

Quote Originally Posted by JJWalecka View Post
    It was my assumption that painting was a no no also. I was surprised that Ehow suggested it.
    painting a ladder violates OSHA, i believe.

Ehow violates common sense.

edit:
    werner suggests painting. i was taught in my apprenticeship painting with anything
    other than clear was verboten, violated OSHA regulations.

i still hold that Ehow violates common sense. i'm not moving off that position.
    Last edited by Fulthrotl; 09-10-12 at 01:33 AM.
    “Give a person a fish and you feed them for a day;
    teach that person to use the Internet and they won't bother you for weeks.”

Quote Originally Posted by Fulthrotl View Post
    painting a ladder violates OSHA, i believe.

Ehow violates common sense.

edit: