Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 49

Thread: Household refrigerator circuit

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    833

    Household refrigerator circuit

    It is not required to be a dedicated circuit I don't believe but if you were wiring your own dwelling,,,,,,,would you make it a dedicated circuit? I did years ago, two of them in fact, house & garage,just curious?


    Happy New Year

    dick

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Fort Collins, CO NEC: 2014
    Posts
    15,486
    I generally put the fridge on with the dining room, or with one of the counters.

    A fridge in the garage could not be on one of the SABC circuits. I would be inclined to put it on its own circuit.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Chapel Hill, NC
    Posts
    26,559
    I have always put it on a separate circuit- 20 amp but that is me. I don't like the idea of it one with the counter and now with afci I would not want it on the dining room either. 2014 looks like the entire kitchen will have to be afci so it should not make a difference any longer.

    Most refrigerators don't draw more than 6 or 8 amps and they are getting more efficient everyday. I will also add that I have seen many refrigerators on with the counter receptacles and the ho have never complained that they were having trouble with it. I probably need to change my approach but old habits are hard to kill.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Fort Collins, CO NEC: 2014
    Posts
    15,486
    Old habits are going to be subject to intense scrutiny against 210.23 when 2014 rolls out.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    NE (9.1 miles @5.07 Degrees from Winged Horses)
    Posts
    5,942
    Microwave/rangehood and fridge never tripped in my old house. Never heard a complaint from customers with the fridge on a SA circuit.
    Tom
    TBLO

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Iowegia
    Posts
    16,890
    Custom home = dedicated 20a circuit.
    Spec. home = 3rd SABC shared with DR.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    13,291
    Quote Originally Posted by Dennis Alwon View Post
    I have always put it on a separate circuit- 20 amp...
    Quote Originally Posted by 480sparky View Post
    Custom home = dedicated 20a circuit.
    ...
    I'm wondering why a 20A circuit, opposed to 15A...?
    I'll never get there. No matter where I go, I'm always here.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Iowegia
    Posts
    16,890
    Quote Originally Posted by Smart $ View Post
    I'm wondering why a 20A circuit, opposed to 15A...?
    In reality, it's just a few pennies more.

    Labor, box, recep, cover, staples, breaker.... all the same cost whether 15a or 20. Only difference is 12/2 instead of 14/2.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    49,212
    Quote Originally Posted by 480sparky View Post
    In reality, it's just a few pennies more.

    Labor, box, recep, cover, staples, breaker.... all the same cost whether 15a or 20. Only difference is 12/2 instead of 14/2.
    An 8 amp refrigerator in all likelihood will run just as well on a 15 amp circuit vs a 20 amp circuit.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Bay Area, Northern CA
    Posts
    810
    I do a lot of custom homes, and most have Sub-Zero or equivalent refrigerators. All get dedicated 15amp circuits.

    My own home, definitely dedicated circuit, as I don't want a tripped GFCI causing a problem.
    ABC

    "Eschew Obfuscation!"

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •