Outbuilding Feeder

Status
Not open for further replies.

RD35

Quick background on myself. I worked as a design engineer, project manager, and estimator for a mid-size local electrical contractor for 12 years. Then moved on to a different line of work. Now I am back doing electrical again as a facilities electrical engineer and, again, regularly searching the code for info. So, I seem to remember reading (back around 2006) that an outbuilding panel could be fed without a grounding conductor (3-wire URD /USE with 2-hots and one reduced neutral) so long as a grounding electrode and conductor were set at the outbuilding similar to what is done for a service. If that is still the case, can you all point me to the code section that addresses this issue? Thanks!

Last edited:

__dan

How do you propose to provide an effective fault clearing path, for source feeder faults to ground, when the Earth is not a listed grounding conductor in 250.118.

infinity

Staff member
Occupation
Journeyman Electrician
Quick background on myself. I worked as a design engineer, project manager, and estimator for a mid-size local electrical contractor for 12 years. Then moved on to a different line of work. Now I am back doing electrical again as a facilities electrical engineer and, again, regularly searching the code for info. So, I seem to remember reading (back around 2006) that an outbuilding panel could be fed without a grounding conductor (3-wire URD /USE with 2-hots and one reduced neutral) so long as a grounding electrode and conductor were set at the outbuilding similar to what is done for a service. If that is still the case, can you all point me to the code section that addresses this issue? Thanks!

Your memory serves you well, it was permitted by the NEC prior to the 2008 code cycle. In the 2008 it was removed and required a feeder with an EGC.

RD35