Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 35

Thread: Boat lift question

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Crofton,md
    Posts
    8
    Kwired.. In order for the boat lift to be gfi protected wouldn't u need that neutral?

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Placerville, CA, USA
    Posts
    6,558
    Quote Originally Posted by Tbizzelmd View Post
    Kwired.. In order for the boat lift to be gfi protected wouldn't u need that neutral?
    A GFI for an L1-to-L2-only load does not have to have either a neutral or a ground to operate. Whether the neutral wire needs to be run to the equipment (or at least to a disconnect) can be considered separately from that.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    NE Nebraska
    Posts
    16,678
    Quote Originally Posted by Tbizzelmd View Post
    Kwired.. In order for the boat lift to be gfi protected wouldn't u need that neutral?
    Depends on the location of the GFCI. You don't need a neutral conductor on the load side of a GFCI if there is no load that will utilize that conductor, but you will need one run with supply conductors to the GFCI as the GFCI device typically needs the "incoming" neutral to function properly.

    That said I don't see any requirement for "class A" GFCI protection for personnel. Only place that is mentioned is for 15 and 20 amp 125 volt receptacles, otherwise 555.3 requires ground fault protection not exceeding 100mA. Now it may be popular choice to use a class A GFCI for such installs anyway and they would still be code compliant.

    Now 555.3 is not all that clear about if the ground fault protection needs to be on the shore or if it can be on docks, piers, etc.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Placerville, CA, USA
    Posts
    6,558
    Quote Originally Posted by kwired View Post
    ... as the GFCI device typically needs the "incoming" neutral to function properly.
    Why?

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Chapel Hill, NC
    Posts
    25,232
    If the 10 wire is run to a sub panel then a neutral will be needed for the 120V gfci's that may be at the boat dock area. Am I assuming correct that you will have a panel?

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Chapel Hill, NC
    Posts
    25,232
    Is this a marina or a private dock?

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    NE Nebraska
    Posts
    16,678
    Quote Originally Posted by GoldDigger View Post
    Why?
    Cause that is how they are made?

    Some looking around and I don't know for certain if they would work without a neutral, but instructions say they must be connected to a neutral.

    According to information from Square D on their GFCI breakers (GFCI info starts on page 9) you must connect the neutral pigtail on the 2 pole units. The basic schematic they show in this document suggests that it possibly may still work without a neutral but the test button would not complete the test without a neutral.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Placerville, CA, USA
    Posts
    6,558
    Quote Originally Posted by kwired View Post
    Cause that is how they are made?

    Some looking around and I don't know for certain if they would work without a neutral, but instructions say they must be connected to a neutral.

    According to information from Square D on their GFCI breakers (GFCI info starts on page 9) you must connect the neutral pigtail on the 2 pole units. The basic schematic they show in this document suggests that it possibly may still work without a neutral but the test button would not complete the test without a neutral.
    They chose to place the test current resistor from neutral to one phase so that they could use the same button and resistor value that they use for the single pole units. There is no reason they could not have used a resistor with twice the ohm value and twice the power rating and connected it between L1 and L2. But they did what they did. So it is a manufacturers' decision rather than a physical law that requires the neutral pigtail connection.
    And of course if there is a current carrying neutral to the load, it must pass through the current coil in the GFCI. That part is a physical law.
    I cannot find any fault in your use of "typically" since it is hard to get more typical than SquareD.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    Fort Myers, FL
    Posts
    943
    Strongly suggest putting a GFCI breaker in the panel on shore before those conductors go over water. Kids & adults get killed very often by dock wiring when they're in the water. Just putting GFCI receptacles at the lift does not eliminate the hazard.
    You make the lights come on and we make them go off.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Crofton,md
    Posts
    8
    I have a 100 amp main lug sub panel at end of pier fused @ 50 amps from the house. I was planning on the boat lift and rec on the pier will have gfi breaker. I have a 10/3 uf pulled to the boat lift now so if I switch it over to 240 and it does not need the neutral I should be good. I will tape up the red green. And install a 240 v switch. it Is a private pier btw

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •