Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Circuits from different panels in same raceway

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    564

    Circuits from different panels in same raceway

    Have a situation where a floorbox has (3) receptacles and (2) are fed from one panel and the other is fed from another panel. Is it code to put these conductors in the same raceway? Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    12,235
    As long as one is not an emergency circuit, yes.
    At my age, I'm accustomed to restaurants asking me to pay in advance, but now my bank has started sending me their calendar one month at a time.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    564
    Quote Originally Posted by augie47 View Post
    As long as one is not an emergency circuit, yes.
    Thanks Augie.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    564
    So let me ask this....if you had a floorbox with (2) IG receptacles and (1) regular receptacle how many wire would this be? Would each IG have to get 1H+1N+1G+1IG? So that would be (8) wires for the IG's? Thanks.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Tennessee
    Posts
    12,235
    Too many variables ......
    You should not need but one "standard" grounding means for the assembly, and that could be any 250.118 method including a raceway.
    If a separate IG is needed for each IG receptacle is a design issue not necessarily a Code issue.
    At my age, I'm accustomed to restaurants asking me to pay in advance, but now my bank has started sending me their calendar one month at a time.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    NJ
    Posts
    564
    Quote Originally Posted by augie47 View Post
    Too many variables ......
    You should not need but one "standard" grounding means for the assembly, and that could be any 250.118 method including a raceway.
    If a separate IG is needed for each IG receptacle is a design issue not necessarily a Code issue.
    Yes it's a design thingy......so according to the design are those counts correct? Thanks

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    Durango, CO
    Posts
    3,142
    Quote Originally Posted by mstrlucky74 View Post
    Yes it's a design thingy......so according to the design are those counts correct? Thanks
    For derating you only count the current carrying conductors. For pipe fill you count every conductor in the pipe.
    If Billy Idol or John Denver is on your Ipod go and re-evaluate your life.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    Fort Collins, Colorado
    Posts
    1,965
    Also keep in mind that you can't hare any neutrals between circuits that are fed from different panels and neutrals have to connect in the same panel where the circuit originates.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •