Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 46

Thread: Circuit Breaker "On" with no connection

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Clarkesville, Georgia
    Posts
    1,423
    Quote Originally Posted by roger View Post
    I think their concern is all the wasted amps that are continuously flowing out of the breakers when they're left on and not connected to anything.


    Roger
    So a 60 amp spare breaker will waste triple the amps of a 20?

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Iowegia
    Posts
    16,795
    Quote Originally Posted by readydave8 View Post
    So a 60 amp spare breaker will waste triple the amps of a 20?
    Only if both are single poles. A 3-pole 60a breaker will dribble out 180 amps.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Aspen, Colo, Pitkin County
    Posts
    485
    The unused are a great heat sink I wonder if there is a job opening
    CircuitRyder --- Unfortunately not all good ideas are code enforceable.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    5,559
    A hospital has a spare breaker?

    Isn't that a code violation in itself?

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    158
    Quote Originally Posted by steve66 View Post
    A hospital has a spare breaker?

    Isn't that a code violation in itself?
    Only after they have been open for 6 months.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    SW Florida
    Posts
    2,355
    This is what happens when you put uneducated people in a position of authority. I'm not allowed to use Stupid.
    Unlimited Electric Contractor/Standard Electric Inspector/Traffic Signal Inspector/Highway Lighting and Level One Traffic Signal Installer.

    I know you believe that you understand what you think I said but I'm sure you realize that what you heard is not what I meant.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Appleton, Wi
    Posts
    152
    Walmart used to have spare breakers in just about every panel in new stores. Times must have changed. On the last remodel, they made us remove all spare breakers and add blanks. We stored the breakers we removed by the main service. The store manager had a no clutter policy and threw all of them out, a lot of them!

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Upstate S.C.
    Posts
    656
    Quote Originally Posted by 480sparky View Post



    Problem solved.

    It that specific to a given brand or is it generic? Who makes it? Wow much $?

    I need to pass out a bunch!

    RC
    It's my name going on that drawing, not yours. If what you want ain't right, it ain't going on the drawings!

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Iowegia
    Posts
    16,795
    Quote Originally Posted by Ragin Cajun View Post
    It that specific to a given brand or is it generic? Who makes it? Wow much $?

    I need to pass out a bunch!

    RC
    They're pretty generic when used on 1" 120v MCBs. Once you get into 277v breakers, you probably need to get something manufacturer-specific. Supply houses usually stock 'em. Cost? I don't know since it's been a long time since I bought any. But I can't imagine they're more than a lunch money.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    N.C.
    Posts
    15,063
    We buy them for around $2.00 to $2.50 ea. We use them mostly on F/A, Life Safety, and security circuits to keep them from being turned off.

    Roger
    Moderator

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •