Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: New meter can off of existing meter

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Houston, Tx.
    Posts
    9

    New meter can off of existing meter

    I am installing a new 100A single phase 120/240V service. There is a 200A meter can next to where i am going to put my new 100A meter can. Can i somehow tie into the existing service? The existing pole is about 150' away. I would like to tie into the existing service so i do not have to trench all the way to the pole.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Massachusetts
    Posts
    59,821
    Quote Originally Posted by Hfalz1 View Post
    I am installing a new 100A single phase 120/240V service. There is a 200A meter can next to where i am going to put my new 100A meter can. Can i somehow tie into the existing service? The existing pole is about 150' away. I would like to tie into the existing service so i do not have to trench all the way to the pole.
    Is the calculated load of both services less than the rating of the conductors?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Houston, Tx.
    Posts
    9
    yes

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    22,466
    Can you cut in a wireway above the existing meter and nipple the new meter to it?
    Rob

    Moderator

    All responses based on the 2014 NEC unless otherwise noted

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Houston, Tx.
    Posts
    9
    Yes and i would just leave the wire long enough so when the utility company comes they shut it down and tie in or do they do that?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    11,056
    Quote Originally Posted by Hfalz1 View Post
    Yes and i would just leave the wire long enough so when the utility company comes they shut it down and tie in or do they do that?
    Depends on the POCO. Some tie and some do not, Call them.
    "Electricity is really just organized lightning." George Carlin


    Derek

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2016
    Location
    US
    Posts
    54
    I'm guessing this is an underground service to the existing meter. Most utilities do not own the underground portion, even if it is before the meter, with that said they may frown upon you feeding 2 services with a 4al or 2cu aught lateral. On the other hand , if they do own it then I can see them letting it go depending on the calculated load. I know for the company I work for, for a new 200a overhead service drop we will only run 1/0 alu triplex from the pot to the mast. The best thing to do is call the utility before you start, to save yourself some grief and $$.

    Sent from my VS986 using Tapatalk

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    glassboro nj
    Posts
    2

    new meter

    Quote Originally Posted by Hfalz1 View Post
    I am installing a new 100A single phase 120/240V service. There is a 200A meter can next to where i am going to put my new 100A meter can. Can i somehow tie into the existing service? The existing pole is about 150' away. I would like to tie into the existing service so i do not have to trench all the way to the pole.
    Is the calculated load of both services less than the rating of the conductors?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •